Comfort Zone

Chianti Ensemble


Photo Foppe Schut
12:00 - 13:00 Salon Podium
12:00 - 13:00 Salon Podium

The Chianti Ensemble overflows with talent and passion. Violinist Shin Sihan and pianist Nathalia Milstein were previously featured in Oranjewoud. Cellist Alexander Warenberg, violist Takehiro Konoe and violinist Yamen Saadi are guests for the first time. Together they form a delightful ensemble and thus a fantastic start to your festival visit.

The program features the piano quintet in E major by Austrian-American Erich Wolfgang Korngold and the second piano quintet in c minor by Frenchman Gabriel Fauré. Both works written in 1921, just after World War I. They mark the beginning of a period in which traditional tonality was increasingly abandoned.

Although they originated simultaneously, the two works are quite different in style. Indeed, Korngold's piano quintet is a youthful work, while Fauré wrote this quintet at the end of his life. Together with the Chianti Ensemble, explore the contrast between the two works.



Gabriel Fauré - Piano Quintet No. 2 in C minor, opus 115
Erich Wolfgang Korngold - Piano Quintet in E major, opus 15


Players Chianti Ensemble

Shin Sihan, violin
Shannon Lee, violin
Dagmar Korbar, viola
Alexander Warenberg, cello
Nathalia Milstein, piano


A registration will be made of this concert by the NTR. This will be broadcast on Sunday, June 4 in Het Avondconcert from 20.00-23.00 on NPO Klassiek. More about NTR Classical

Receive news from Oranjewoud Festival in your mail?
Sign up to receive our digital newsletter regularly (but not too often)

Follow #OranjewoudFestival

Oranjewoud Festival is a low-threshold, multifaceted and stimulating music festival in the fairytale parkland of Oranjewoud near Heerenveen (Friesland) | May 30 to June 2, 2024

This website uses cookies to improve user experience. By using our website, you accept all cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. More about our cookie policy