Death and the Maiden

Despair and melancholy from Schubert at his finest

icon-timezo 4 juni 15:00-16:00

icon-pointerRabobank Pavilion

Death and the Maiden

Schubert's Quartettsatz was a prelude to his String Quartet no. 12: Schubert wrote the first movement and started work on the second andante movement. The manuscript comes to a halt after forty measures and we don't know why he never completed it. Schubert composed his String Quartet no. 14 'Death and the Maiden' in 1824, as he felt his own death approaching – it's a feverish vision of impending night.

Setting: indoors

Made by LUDWIG, comprising the following performers.

Artists and performers

Frank Brakkee, viola
Michael Müller, cello
Nadia Wijzenbeek, violin
Naomi Peters, violin


Franz Schubert - Quartettsatz
Franz Schubert - String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, ‘Der Tod und das Mädchen’



€ 19,50 (minus tot 30% stapelkorting)
€ 2,50 (t/m 18 jaar)

› Order