‘Do you work a whole year on this?’ Members of the festival team sometimes get asked this question. Actually, it’s not such a strange question considering that the festival only lasts a few days. But during those days, Oranjewoud is orchestrating just as many activities and performances as some theatres organise all season long – and that often relate to the performance site itself.

This requires lots of preparation: the programme has to be put together, the musicians invited, etc. Funding also has to be raised by approaching funding agencies and government authorities and by talking with businesses about sponsoring. Plans and agreements have to be made with organisations that collaborate with the festival. Then, once the programme is finally established and the funding goals have been met, we still have to arrange all the details and sell the tickets.

This is why it’s so great that we have such a fantastic team of enthusiastic and capable employees who won’t rest until everything is just the way they want it. But before then, there’s still a whole lot to do.  Right before the festival, we get help from dozens of volunteers who take on thousands of important jobs and ensure that festival visitors will have a wonderful time.

Such good teamwork means that we can make the Oranjewoud Festival a big success every year – an event that will make all of our visitors happy :-)

The Festival team


Yoram Ish-Hurwitz, Artistic Director
Immie Jonkman, Business Director


Dorine Schreurs, Fundraiser
Enno Feenstra, Production Leader
Franca Klaus (De Kippen), Marketing & Communication
Margreet van Litsenburg, Programme Coordinator and Marketing Assistant
Thomas Coehoorn, Production Assistant
Trudy Tomson, Volunteer Coordinator
Leonie Versteegh, Proeftuin Coordinator
Eva Oenema, Proeftuin Coordinator en Crew Caterer
Cathelijne, International Visitor Programme Coordinator

Ticket Sales Assistant


Yvonne van den Berg, General Artistic Advisor

Innovation Committee
Ira Judkovskaja
Mayke Nas
Rosanne Philippens
Steven Walter

Pieter Jan Struik (Ateliers Majeur)


Oranjewoud Festival Foundation

Tjeerd van Bekkum, chairman
Gerrit Kramer, treasurer
Wilko Jan Aardema, board member
Piet Bandell, board member
Jacques Malschaert, board member
Lode van Piggelen, board member

Chamber of Commerce Leeuwarden 51205335
IBAN: NL26 RABO 0132 7160 54
status as a cultural charitable institution (ANBI)

Friends of Oranjewoud Festival Foundation

Frans Bouwers, chairman
Hiltsje Leffering, treasurer
Dineke Hoekstra, board member
Janny Klein, board member

Chamber of Commerce Leeuwarden 54513138
IBAN: NL55 RABO 0132 9868 41

Foundation Friends of Oranjewoud Festival

Fok 78
8441 BR Heerenveen
The Netherlands


Stichting Oranjewoud Festival
Fok 78
8441 BR Heerenveen
The Netherlands

Questions about ticket sales can be addressed to